About Us

Grand Valley Artists has moved to 2661 29th Street SE, Suite B, Grand Rapids, MI 49512. GVA was officially founded in 1957 and is one of the oldest art groups in the Midwest and the oldest in Michigan. Not happy with the then-popular modern art focus of the local art community, Bill Kubiak, Armand Merizon, and Carl Forslund decided to start a group to focus instead on Realism and traditional art. GVA has grown to be a place where artists of all levels and media are welcome to meet, discuss, learn, and grow. Over the years, we've come to embrace all styles, from representational to abstract to non-representational art in all its forms.

See the calendar on this website to learn about the many opportunities available, including weekly still life, portrait, plein air and figurative studio sessions, monthly critique, monthly program, and monthly photography gathering.

Guests
Guests are welcome to attend a sketch session or two without joining GVA. The cost for non-members is $5 extra per session. After attending a few sessions, we know you will want to join us! If you'd like to learn more about our organization from one of the current members, we will be happy to talk with you. We've provided our emails below. 

Our studio is located at 2661 29th Street SE, Suite B, Grand Rapids, MI 49512.

Models
Would you like to model for our figure drawing or portrait groups? If so, please contact Kathleen Bechtel at kathleen.bechtel@yahoo.com.

Grand Valley Artists proudly display their work at:

Trinity United Methodist Church
1100 Lake Drive SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49506

If you are interested in showing your work at the church, members contact Sara Youngman at sycre8@gmail.com.

Englehardt Library
You'll also find us at the Englehardt Branch of the Kent County Library in Lowell, MI. Members can contact Sara Youngman at sycre8@gmail.com to apply.
 
Biggby Coffee
Family-friendly artwork is featured at selected locations. Contact Steve Scarborough at stevescarb1@yahoo.com for details.

Our 2022 Leadership

President: Dana Donnell (DanaBDonnell@gmail.com)

Vice President: Diane Haworth (dhaworth623@gmail.com) Interim

Treasurer: Julia Berry (berry.julia@gmail.com)

Secretary: Robyn Gransow (rgransow@gmail.com) Interim

Director of Education: Terri Hanna (TLHanna0807@gmail.com) Sketch Studio: Kathy Bechtel, Jim Johnson, Diane Haworth

Director of Marketing: Brandi David (BDKlanke@gmail.com) Newsletter: Brandi David w/ Mary Helmic; Interim Website: Mary Baine and Brandi David; Interim MailChimp: Mary Baine

Director of Facilities:  Marty Klar (martyklar@comcast.net)

Director of Engagement: Open

Director of Development: Open

Additional Roles

Membership: Mary Baine (marymbaine@gmail.com)

Photography: Randy Nyhof (r.nyhof@comcast.net)

 

Hospitality: Evie Carrier (evie.carrier@gmail.com) and DeLaine Klar (dklar@comcast.net)

Library: Richard Schaf (srichardsally@yahoo.com)

GVA Gallery: Jim Johnson (johnsontheartist@hotmail.com)

We can also be contacted by email here: http://grandvalleyartists.com/contact or use the Contact Us tab and choose the appropriate option.
 
Want to Join or Ready to Renew? Fill out the online form here.