About Us

Grand Valley Artists, located at 1695 Service Rd. NE, Suite 106, Grand Rapids, MI 49503, was founded in 1957 and is one of the oldest art groups in the Midwest and the oldest in Michigan. Not happy with the then-popular modern art focus of the local art community, Bill Kubiak, Armand Merizon, and Carl Forslund decided to start a group to focus instead on Realism and traditional art. GVA has grown to be a place where artists of all levels and media are welcome to meet, discuss, learn, and grow. Over the years, we've come to embrace all styles, from representational to abstract to non-representational art in all its forms.

See the calendar on this website to learn about the many opportunities available, including weekly still life, portrait, plein air and figurative studio sessions, monthly critique, monthly program, and monthly photography gathering.

 

Guests
Guests are welcome to attend a sketch session or two without joining GVA. The cost for non-members is $10. After attending a few sessions, we know you will want to join us! If you'd like to learn more about our organization from one of the current members, we will be happy to talk with you. We've provided our emails below. 

Our studio is located at 1695 Service Rd. NE, Suite 106, Grand Rapids, MI 49503. 

Models
Would you like to model for our figure drawing or portrait group? If so, please contact Kathleen Bechtel at kathleen.bechtel@yahoo.com or Mary Marin at marymarin1285@gmail.com.

Follow us on facebook: Grand Valley Artists

Grand Valley Artists proudly display their work at:

Trinity United Methodist Church
1100 Lake Drive SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49506

If you are interested in showing your work at the church, members contact Mary Marin at marymarin1285@gmail.com.

Bliss & Vinegar
888 Forest Hills Avenue SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49546
 
To display your work at B&V, members need to load examples of their work to the gallery on this website. The owners will contact you through Marty Klar if they think your work would work well in their space.
 
Englehardt Library
You'll also find us at the Englehardt Branch of the Kent County Library in Lowell, MI. Members can contact Sandi Brogger at rsbrogger@gmail.com to apply.
 

Our 2018 Leadership

President: Carol Laurn (carollaurn@yahoo.com)

Vice President: Emily Green (ww.emilyg@gmail.com

Treasurer: Evie Carrier (evie.carrier@gmail.com)

Secretary: Dana Donnell (DanaBDonnell@gmail.com)

Membership: Mary Baine (marymbaine@gmail.com)

Photography: Randy Nyhof (r.nyhof@comcast.net)

Program: Randy Nyhof (r.nyhof@comcast.net)

Publicity: Steve Scarborough (stevescarb1@yahoo.com)

Newsletter and Website: Mary Marin (marymarin1285@gmail.com)

Newsletter Distribution: Sallie Zigterman (sallie.zigterman@yahoo.com)

Reeds Lake: Linda Scarborough (lindascarborough@yahoo.com)

Sketch Studio: Kathy Bechtel, Dave Bazen, Mary Marin, Jim Johnson

Hospitality: Peg McKeown, (mcperfitt@me.com)

Facilities Coordinator: Dave Bazen (dbazen@bazenelectric.com)

Legacy Liaison: Robert Kraai (rkraai@ameritech.net)

501(c)(3) Coordinator: Position open

Outreach: Douglas Klemm (dougklemm@hotmail.com)

Social Media: Emily Green (ww.emilyg@gmail.com)

We can also be contacted by email here: http://grandvalleyartists.com/contact or use the Contact Us tab and choose the appropriate option.
 
Want to Join or Ready to Renew? Fill out the online form here.